Diary of a Homeowner

By JennyWrenny

Why I Love Riverford

Organic food boxes can be a controversial subject. Are they fresh enough? Are they good value for money? Are they really better for the environment? Are they only for the middle class? But today, who cares? This is why I love Riverford.

Today I tried the vegetarian recipe box for the first time. It's the busiest time at work for me and when I got home late tonight it was on my doorstep ready and waiting, with a complementary bottle of organic apple juice chucked in for good measure. The idea of the recipe box is that it gives you all the ingredients you need for three meals for two people, but for me this means I get six meals out of them.

Tonight I made the gnocchi with spinach mushrooms and stilton and here my thoughts.I could not have bought all those ingredients for any cheaper in the supermarket and nor would they have been so tasty. I've never cooked gnocchi before so I've cooked something new and it was unbelievably easy. My portion for one was way too big and I'm now debating if you can eat gnocchi cold the next day. I've not wsted any food and have saved so much time by not starting a meal and finding that I'm missing that key ingredient. And finally, it's nice and healthy and an easy way for me to cut down on my meat intake without having to stress about finding veggie recipes. So there you have it, today I love Riverford. Anyone for leftover gnocchi?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.