SophieCD

By SophieCD

Missed opportunity

My favorite car is those old squared Jeep Cherokee. In red please! I would probably never own one, because their getting old, because gas is now way to expensive. But, what can I say, I just felt for those Jeep a few years ago while on a long road trip out west... Out west, they were thousands of them... I could see one every day!

But not here... Except that day. Yesterday. A beautiful red shiny Jeep Cherokee parked right beside my car... Actually so close to my car that I could barely open my door... But it wasn't the matter, it was a Red Cherokee. I instantly had the idea to take a picture of it. As a normal day at work, that was really the highlight of my day! Hence, I take the camera out of the bag (yes, I now always bring my camera with me) and get ready to figure a way to represent the car for this blip.

The sun is low, the light is warm. The car looks great under that light. At that point I'm very happy because I found my picture of the day- which it's sometime not an easy task!

Someone is coming, someone new here, and that car is new around that parking lot... I never saw it before (I'm at work...). Wait, the guy is coming towards me, towards the car... It's probably his... Shit! I fake to look for something in my car... But I just hide my camera... It's confirmed it's his car... The guy talks to me, excusing himself about the fact that his car is so close to mind... Me? I'm just like: yeah no problem, I was just saying to myself how I like those cars! And... That's it. Too shy to tell him that I was about to take a picture...

How can I possibly ask someone, hey can I take a picture of your car? How silly would that look! I don't want to look like some girl so interested by car... I'm just interested by the way the light hits you red car which turns to be my ever favorite car that, moreover reminds me my good days road tripping... Can you really start explaining yourself to some stranger just because of a car? Well, he's not even a stranger, I may see him again, he's a new client. Well that day the answer was no. I was too shy.

Back home I decided to take a picture of the name in the dictionary - way much uninteresting and so boring- but to remind me to always risk it. Try it. Never be shy. What would have been the worst thing to happen? I would have looked weird? He would have said no? I felt useless back home. I really like to take pictures, but when comes to interact with strangers, I'm really just a big zero. I would love to take picture of strangers sometimes, for now I don't know how. I hope to overcome my fears and that project 365 will be a good source of motivation. I'll work on that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.