The Price of Freedom

Today it's exactly 70 years ago that the first - and hopefully last - atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima forcing Japan to surrender.

It's something I look upon with mixed feelings.

I'm a pacifist so I'm firm in my principles against any form of war or violence. 

In that sense I condemn throwing a bomb on drafted soldiers or innocent civilians equally, but on the other hand....

It meant freedom for my dear mother who was imprisoned in a Japanese War Camp in Indonesia* as a 16 - 19 year old girl separated and far away from her family.

Today I took my mother along to the graveyard to reminisce and shot this memorial field for those who fell in the war. 
I had to stretch my hand as high as possible to also capture the shadow of the falling soldier on the grass and I'm really pleased with that subtle detail.


* Freedom for my mom in Indonesia came on august 15th 1945, so I'll post another relevant entry next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.