Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

New Wheels - for the day

Did one of the endless tasks of being a parent today. My eldest is moving out of the house he's been sharing on his year out from Uni, so, we were playing removals men for the day.

I booked a van online a few weeks ago which was a painless exercise. An early start  - I arrived this morning to pick the van up and was presented with a brand new van with delivery mileage. Oh joy!

Amazingly, it had all the toys associated with a new car - Parking sensors, automatic lights and wipers, cruise control and, most importantly, a DAB radio. This only became apparent after we had loaded up and were on our way back to the put this load of furniture into storage for a few months.

I got a text from my wife which the boys read out to me - "In case you haven't heard, it's all going rather well at Trent Bridge. Australia 21 for 5!!!!!!!"

That caused a mad scramble to find Radio 4 TMS - There was DAB!! But it wasn't programmed. Because of what I do, I know the BBC transmit on 12A throughout the country so we went directly to that Multiplex, and low and behold, we found TMS. By then it was 29 for 6. Australia managed to get to 50 just as we got back, but lost their last wicket as we just removing the bits needed to be left at home. Part of me wanted to feel sorry for the Auzzies, but couldn't ;-)

Anyway, off the get the rest of the furniture into storage and we managed to get it squeezed it from the back of the van (which was loaded to the gunnels) into an even smaller space! With careful thought, we managed this 3D version of tetris with barely an inch to spare. Van duly returned (early), no scratches or dents and fuelled the same as I picked it up. Always a relief.

Vans aint what they used to be.....!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.