Letterbox in the clouds

A letterbox in the clouds is always a good sign when you’ve been walking in thick mist and heavy drizzle for an hour and a half.  

I paused to look around and noticed a glimpse of the hills attempting to break through;  there is no finer feeling, even when the view disappears almost as quickly as it showed up.  I couldn’t help but smile.  I continued walking on to the next top and it happened again but this time with a little more determination.  Deliberating whether to continue, I quickly decided that if I carried on, I’d be half way round before the cloud broke up and have missed half the views.  So, out came my sandwiches and I stood and waited.

A woman came by with her dog and she chuckled at the idea that it would actually break up right now as the cloud enveloped us again.  

I still waited.

Only minutes later, I was willing her to look up as above her, I could see outlines of mountains.  She had her head down, concentrating on her feet.  

I kept munching.

Suddenly, what I’d hoped for happened, all in the space of no more than five minutes.  The whole sky parted, the mist rolled off and upwards and all of the Kentmere horseshoe was visible with glorious blue skies above.  

It was an incredibly beautiful few minutes. 

I didn’t do all of the tops on the horseshoe but it’s still a long way round and I enjoyed every moment.  My knees had a little crunch on the uphills and I pondered which would last longer, my knees or Little Dog.  That gave me more than just a little lump in my throat so I swallowed quickly, blinked hard and got back to enjoying the present.

Me and Little Dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.