Puffin on Lunga

Took a boat trip today to Staffa to see Fingal's Cave, and to Lunga, one of the Treshnish Isles, to see whatever birds we could see. What I really wanted to see were the puffins, but they supposedly leave on the 10th August - only sometimes I'm guessing they get the date wrong... Anyway, got there, and saw plenty of puffins bobbing on the waves - and even flying about, but not landing where I could see them...

J and I gave up and sat on a rock chatting and admiring the scenery, when suddenly this little fellow sailed past us with a sand eel in his/her beak and then disappeared down a burrow. We walked over to it, at which point it emerged. I was so excited, didn't get a great photo - but this had to be my blip for today - definite highlight.

Going to put an extra of some seals we sailed past on one of the smaller isles. Oh, and, wonderfully, we had some hot sunshine on the way back, and only a bit of rain on the way there - so good.

(Have walked down to the Western Isles Hotel to blip this as our internet still pretty dire, and also backblipped for yesterday.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.