But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Stable Block.

I went down to the Lost Garden to inspect the apiary site that has been cleared of undergrowth for me. There was still some brushwood that needed moving which I piled up out of the way; in other circles I might refer to the piles as wildlife refuges. It took a little effort to level the ground enough to install the first hive stand whilst accompanied and supervised by a plague of flies.  I wondered how the regular gardeners cope with the blighters and consoled myself with the thought that, most of the time that I'll be working there, I'll be protected by a bee-suit.

From just outside the main gate to the garden is this view of the old stable block to Penicuik House. From this distance it looks sufficiently spacious for current owners and their retinue to live a comfortable existence. The head of the house-hold is, incidentally, also a beekeeper; his hives are on the front lawn and seem to be used as guard dogs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.