The Mad Max

By TheMadMax

Hibernation

So it has been a good long while since contributing to blipfoto. Back in February, my stubbornness gave out and my desire for posting one photo a day withered. I gave up. I was so frustrated with not making the effort to capture something that wasn't at the time I was supposed to be going to sleep. I also experienced a creative blockage of sorts. My vision for what I wanted my photographs to be and show was not happening. I figured that rather than force something, it was time to call it quits. With that I have almost taken a hiatus from photography. I have picked up my camera to capture a few moments. I was able to photograph my best friend's wedding in March, I have been running an instagram account for Gracenet Community Church in Wellington, and I do some part-time photography for the New Zealand School of Music. Other than these, I rarely pick up my camera anymore which I find to be sad. I have a great joy from photography - both the technical side and the creative outlet it provides. I am sure most, if not all, of the blipfoto world feel similar and know exactly what I mean in writing this. 

I have been pondering the idea of starting a blog. I am not sure about what since I have never enjoyed journaling or writing. This rolling around of thoughts brought to mind blipfoto and that it can be just that if necessary; a blog. A place where one can record memories or random thoughts both in photographs and words. It can be personal or a portrayal of anything one wants to be. As a lot has happened in life lately, the Mrs and I have recently purchased our first home. We have a new life that does not consist of viewing open homes every night of the week and moving around from the homes of generous friends who willingly put us up as we worked tirelessly to find a place to live after being evicted from our previous residence. We now have to commute via the train into the city and deal with all the joys of owning your own home. With work being busy for the both of us and extracurricular life being hectic as well, how does one have time for finding new projects and ways to express creativity with light? 

Today, blipfoto has drawn me back. My goal is to again challenge myself with intentionally picking up my camera and "see" things in different ways. I look forward to what lies ahead. 

Until next time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.