*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

219/365: A day spoiled

Bit of a strange day. 

Walked along the canal to Dowley Gap to take my cardboard and general waste for recycling then headed back to Bingley via Beckfoot Lane and the allotments. And that's where my day took an unexpected turn.

I go along that footpath a lot and always see loads of birds, flowers and all sorts of interesting things to photograph. Today I spotted a baby robin so got my camera out and was taking a picture when I heard someone shouting. At first I ignored it because I didn't think it was anything to do with me... because why would it be? Eventually I realised it was to do with me when Lurky started shouting back.

There was a woman at the far side of one of the allotments yelling at me to go away and to stop taking photographs. Then she started demanding to know what I was taking pictures of. I told her that I was on a public footpath and there was a baby robin on the fence but I may as well have saved my breath. I could have said anything and she wouldn't have listened. She was so aggressive and rude and said she was sick of people nosying in her allotment.

I was really angry afterwards but then it all started making me feel bad about myself. Nature and outdoor photography has been a life-line to me over the last few years and out of all the 10s of 1000s of pictures I have taken I've never had such aggression or rudeness shown to me. In fact, throughout my life in general I don't think I have.

I was on a busy public footpath, photographing a baby bird about a foot into someone's allotment and I was made to feel like a scumbag paparazzi photographer. If she felt uncomfortable because she thought I was taking a photo of her (which I wasn't because I hadn't even noticed her right at the other end of the plot) then she could have just politely enquired what I was photographing... and I would have politely told her. There was no need to speak to another human being in that manner.

How street and candid photographers manage to get away with the intrusive shots they take I have no idea! 

I really love it down there and it's been ruined for me by one very rude, unpleasant person. Thanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.