SIGNS

By Mickky

I've climbed Durham Cathedral Tower

Traveled to Durham and got this seal at Durham Cathedral. The use of the present perfect form here may carry the implication that the act of climbing took place in the very recent past, by which the speaker can suggest the immediacy of the event; the form may also imply that the speaker has an experience of climbing the tower, some time in the past. As many as two months passing, now this sentence looks like having the latter implication to me, whereas I clearly remember that I understood this sentence with the former implication on the day.

I was interested in Durham just because the name of the city appears in my favourite film, Billy Elliot. Also two of my friends strongly recommended me to visit.

I added several photos of public signs I found during the trip. I especially liked the botanic garden of Durham University.

(Published in August 2015)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.