nature

I thought my early morning walk under a blue sky watching rabbits and spotting a heron was going to be the highlight of the day. But no, it got better. About 8 o’clock the garden was invaded by birds. Loads of bluetits I thought, but they weren’t blue. I looked in the bird book and they were juveniles ….. Mr and Mrs Bluetit have had a very good season. Then I spotted a robin perched on the clothes post and a youngster on the garden seat. Add to that a few coal tits and a male blackbird sunning itself on the arm of the garden bench. It was better than going to the RSPB reserve. 

Late morning, after I’d washed the dirty trousers from yesterday, we went on a squirrel hunt. The poster at the Thirlmere car park says follow the squirrel signs to the hide. There weren’t many but we found or way to where the hide was. That’s the important word ...... was. It is no more and the information is totally out of date. Perhaps a glimmer of hope though …… there are some new signposts from the car park saying squirrel trail. I wait with anticipation. 

I’d hoped to blip a squirrel. Instead it’s a beetle (Rhagonycha fulva) on a flower (Yarrow) beside the car park. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.