Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Julie (St) Andrews

To explain my title: The yacht was called 'Julie' and it was moored at St Andrews (Fife). I admit to a little tampering with the image.

While I am explaining things, I think I should perhaps add a further explanation to yesterday's blip.

The location (Lower Largo, Fife) was the birthplace of Alexander Selkirk.  Alexander Selkirk was the real-life sailor who was the inspiration for Daniel Defoe's book 'Robinson Crusoe'.
The village has many references to this historical/literary link.  There is a statue and a hotel called the 'Crusoe Hotel' for example.  The house that formed the subject of yesterday's blip is named after another character from the book - 'Man Friday'.  The theme of being stranded on a shore is reflected in the flotsam decorating the gable end of the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.