Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Flower Friday - For My Aunt

My aunt will be joined with her husband on Saturday morning after being apart for 29 long years. 

Aunt Carol was an awesome lady and had a very strong back bone.  Shortly before my uncle's death, she learned how to drive (was in her mid-fifties), learned how to manage everything from the house to finances, and prided herself in not relying on others to get things done.  When their son (my cousin) died in 2008 (in her late 70's at the time), she took that very hard and she started to go downhill.  

Over the past 7 years, we grew very close and she opened up and allowed me to help her with things that she never would have considered when she was younger.  I am glad that she did this because she was able to stay in her home until four weeks before her passing.  Her one requirement for living was that she never wanted to be in a nursing home (who can blame her!).  

I wasn't sure what kind of flowers to get but noticed that the grave marker for her and her husband has roses around the edge.  So hopefully these will be appropriate for their reunion.  

Have a great weekend and thanks again for all of the well wishes and support over the past 4 weeks.  : ))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.