I still love my students but...

In the final rehearsal* the Fairy Godmother’s assistant popped the orange-balloon pumpkin by mistake. After initial horror from the whole cast, a replacement was made from a pink balloon.
 
In the performance the transformation scene between one Cinderella and another, to be effected by the first Cinderella sweeping off her cloak and wrapping it round the transformed Cinderella, couldn’t happen because in a bit of earlier enthusiastic improvisation one of the Ugly Sisters had already swiped the cloak off Cinderella. Then the replacement pink pumpkin didn't make an appearance as it had been left at the back of the classroom by mistake. However, the ball scene brought down the house. The audience, another class, many of whose members knew my class, found boys trying to waltz, especially with other boys, hysterical. After that it didn't really matter that Cinderella, bless her, had forgotten to take off her trainers so the cardboard-box glass slipper didn’t fit her just as it didn't fit the Ugly Sisters.

This was my last day of summer school teaching and I am exhausted. I feel about as grainy and blurred as my evening-walk photo.


*None of this makes the slightest bit of sense if you haven't read yesterday's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.