An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Home at last!!!

So, almost 7 months on from this blip, we finally get to move into our new home!

Up bright and early as the removal men were arriving at 8am to finish packing and loading.   Marion arrived and got Alan out his bed at 9am.  Just as well as 5 minutes later his mattress was on the removal van!  Ele arrived to help but we ended up sitting around whilst the very efficient removal team (the wonderful Scott and Paul) did all the hard work.  David took stuff to the tip and arrived back with a pile of bacon rolls.  Delish!

Just after 12 noon we were off!!

David took Alan and Marion in the people carrier and I drove up on my own in the Audi.  Funny, I'd been looking forward to that drive for so long, yet all the way up the road I had to keep swallowing a very large lump in my throat.

David pulled into the driveway just behind me making a strange gesture that I didn't quite understand.  Turns out he was warning me that Alan was upset and had been crying all the way from the end of our old road.  Oh dear.  Took him aside and sat with him and talked about how it was only natural to feel sad and that I felt sad too.  Then we took him to see his new bedroom.  By this point David had put up Alan's favourite Tess Daly poster and lo and behold, all was suddenly well again in Alan's world!  Maybe he thought we'd left her behind!!!

Ele and Kenny arrived followed by our nephew Andrew and his girlfriend Natalie, then finally my niece Jennifer.  A quick sandwich lunch then the removal van arrived and emptied very quickly and before we knew it, Scott and Paul had gone leaving us with the chaos.  (Not before Paul told Marion she has to straighten all the crumpled packing paper as they recycle it then 15 minutes and much flattening of paper by Marion, told her he was only joking!  ;-)))

The rest of the day was spent in a blur of unpacking and people saying "where does this go?"  to which our stock answer was "Don't know, wherever you think's best" so it's a bit of a treasure hunt when looking for something.   No worries, it'll all get sorted out properly over the coming months.

I ran Marion home and it was very strange driving past Cumbernauld on my way back.  That second journey up the road on my own was much better than this morning's one.  My mood much lighter and my earlier sadness replaced by the excitement and joy I had been expecting earlier.

Only David, Alan, Ele and Kenny left when I got back and we agreed it was time to get the fish suppers in (actually it ended up being 3 haggis suppers and a chicken supper) and open the champagne.  Fantastic!

Much to our relief Alan loves his new bedroom and since he'd missed out on a long lie in, was keen to get his pjs on and into bed.  David and Ele go the beds sorted then Ele and I finished off another bottle of champagne (would have been rude not to) then it was time to head upstairs to bed (strange to type that after living in a bungalow for the last 15 years!)

An emotional but exciting day.  

:-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.