AfterDark

By AfterDark

Squeezing a lemon.!.

I never really realized, just how hard it is to freeze a water droplet by dropping the water and squeezing the shutter release at just the correct moment.. !

It's really quite a complicated science, especially if you attempt to do it the manual way.. 

If you research this topic you will find various gizmos and even computer programmable  set-ups to help achieve more consistency and spectacular results... then there is the science of water viscosity or water surface tension.. 


WOW . Add in to that mix, some food colouring of the different water droplets and collisions.. flipping heck the list is endless.. 

I tried the hard way with tea spoon, a couple of plastic syringes  and got very poor results.. what I did find was.... after raiding the fridge I found half a lemon and got better results..squeezing droplets out of that. ha ha... 

Only trouble then, was the lemon juice clouded up the water...Hmm so glad the better half wasn't watching me experiment ! Im sure she would have thought I was bonkers..

Who knows I may revisit this topic again some day soon..

PS.. I certainly have more respect for those that have solved the issues with different bowl widths and water drop heights bla bla.... 


Check out this flickr set for some really awesome splashes
By: Heinz Maier

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.