Sour Grapes

These are the grapes that are growing on the vine that covers the pergola. I think this year it's as good a crop as I've seen, but they are no good for eating - very sour.  They look nice though, and it's a lovely shade to put a table and chairs underneath.
We went for a walk in the late afternoon with our boys. We were in a very large field, just heading back downhill, and suddenly a large collie-type dog appeared from nowhere and started to attack our dogs. Ours were on leads which C was holding,  but it took all of his strength to keep them back as they were trying to get to the dog that was still attacking them. Several times it went round them and started barking at me with its teeth bared If we tried to move away it just kept after us. This went on for 3 or 4 minutes (but seemed like an hour) and was very scary until the dog walker came running down the hill and put hers on a lead. She apologised profusely and said it was her sister's and was a rescue dog and was very unpredictable, and that she was looking after it for a few days. I wish she'd had kept it on a lead though. If I had been on my own with just one dog there's no way that I would have been able to manage. 
We took the boys home and I was still shaking. We went to the local for our normal Friday evening Huff for an hour to relax. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.