SLPlearning

By SLPlearning

Don't Make Me Laugh

‘Courtesy costs nothing but gains everything,’ so says an old proverb and I couldn't agree more.  It seems though now somewhere in my world some people think being courteous is one way traffic.


I have always been a believer in it costing nothing to be polite-a bit like the be nice attitude my grandmother used to instil in all the family, but recently I've noticed that this 'politeness' is not always reciprocated.  It is in fact very much a case of, you have always to be nice to us, and we'll decide if we want to be nice back.  That bit I don't mind at all, except then the insult to injury is added when the said parties complain about others not being courteous-makes me want to laugh out loud, but I won't.


'Politeness (is) a sign of dignity, not subservience', Theodore Roosevelt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.