"Where's the nap, you thief?"

No -- I did not take a nap 
--The nap -- took -- me
Off the bed and out the window. 
Far beyond the sea,
To a land where sleepy heads 
Read only comic books
And lock their naps in iron safes 
So that they can't get took.

And soon as I came to that land 
,I also came to grief.
The people pointed at me, 
shouting,"I did not take that nap," 
I cried,"I give my solemn vow,
And if I took it by mistake
I do not have it now."

"Oh fiddle-fudge," cried out the judge,
Your record looks quite sour.
Last night I see you stole a kiss,
Last week you took a shower, 
"You beat your eggs
,you've whipped your cream,
You've even killed an hour or two,
We know you shot a basketball,
You've stolen second base,
And we can see you're guilty
From the sleep that's on your face.

part of The Nap Thief, Shel Silverstein

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.