A Charming Couple

Dear Diary,

I went to visit my friend Dotty and decided to take a different road from the one I normally take.  This charming couple made me pull over for the photo op.  Scarecrows are a staple of rural life but this pair were particularly well done I think.

This experience underscored the need to allow yourself to take "the road less traveled" from time to time.  Who knows what delights await you along the way!  I taught a workshop on creativity for teachers years back and one of the assignments was to find a new way to go home after school.  Force yourself to re-program your daily life.  It is what I called a "rut buster". 

I also used the idea that being on the "right track" is fine but allow yourself to be "side tracked" once in a while.  It really speaks to the need for some spontaneity and flexibility in your thinking and as we age I find we tend to become more rigid in our thinking.  If we don't take care we can develop "psychosclerosis"...a hardening of the attitudes.  I include myself in this because I find myself falling into the trap of routine from time to time.  It is really refreshing to mix things up from time to time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.