'My' path!

Well, that was interesting! We set out to walk the paths in my km square (see here for details of the Big Pathwatch).
 
I thought I knew the local paths, but I now know that I did not - not all of them anyway. Gordon had an idea about most of them (and the hazards!) as he does a lot of running, but I now realise that I only use some of the paths. I also know why I don't use the others!!
 
Highs
*   Excellent paths, stiles and gates through Dufton Ghyll (Woodland Trust).
    (Those Blippers who came on the Blipmeet earlier in the year will 
      remember walking some of this.)
*   A lovely sunken path leading out of the woods (my blip)
 
Lows
*   Unsafe stile (very narrow with loose stones on both sides)
*   A quite ridiculous, almost impassable stile (see extra)
*   An overgrown and unsafe (because of loose stones) path on the edge of
    a large field of barley. For much of this bit, we ended up walked along a
    path that had been made right through the barley
 
And we've only covered part of the square! Interesting though and worth doing.
 
These are all marked public footpaths. No wonder a need was seen for this sort of campaign. Quite what happens after, I don't know.
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.