Kipper Cabin

By KipperCabin

I'm that fed up with brown grass ...

... thought I might cobble the back lawn with French Beach rocks.  Yeah.  All 4000 sq yds of it.  A noble notion.

This wee patch, measuring one yard by an average of, say, eight inches took four hours of blood and sweat.  Seems concrete stirring isn't one of my strengths.  Not to mention brick laying. 

So, yeah, I've gone off that notion.  That wee patch'll do for now.

ERK!

Here's a laugh ... despite the fact that I work for a national broadcaster that owns, I dunno, 500 radio stations and a hundred TV stations, I somehow manage to stay totally out of touch with the world. I rang my best mates young daughter a couple of weeks ago to find out what she wanted for her birthday.  "I'd really like a one direction backpack", says she.  Seeing as her mam and dad are serious hill walkers I assumed it was a high end mountineering brand.  And that it would put me back $200.  But never mind, off I go to MEC.  I'm stood in the backpack section, scanning for a one direction backpack and a young sales assistant comes along.  "Do you have one direction backpacks?", says I.  His head quite visibly shifted back along his neckline.  "um .... NO!", says he. I say, "Any idea who carries them?".  "um ... maybe Walmart?" says he.

Somewhat shaken I head home, and fire up the old laptop.  I google one direction.

Oh!!  I see!!

Right.  Sorted.

But because I googled one direction they now turn up in my google news feed!  All the time! 

I dreamt about them last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.