2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Wet!

As I got to the Doctor's surgery today it was pouring down again. It's been on and off all day.
I dropped some posters around the village to advertise something I'm doing next weekend (I can't remember if I mentioned it but more of it later anyway)

One place I went to was our Church where the annual flower festival is being held. I should have taken my camera with me.

What I did learn in Church was the amount of industry we used to have in Freckleton. There used to be rope makers, sailmakers, and weavers (who supplied the sailmakers). Smuggling supposedly occurred at what is now The Ship Inn, and there used to be a large tanning yard. The village band was formed as far back as 1886 and is in the "Premier league" of Brass Bands in the UK.
Amazing what you find out from 15 minutes in a Church.

It's our village Club Day tomorrow and the oldest Half Marathon in the UK on Sunday.
Have a goood weekend.
Come on England!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.