Vacation in Holland

This evening I travelled to Amsterdam, to visit a friend and to be able to get to the airport quickly tomorrow morning. I had forgotten how beautiful the city is! I walked from the Rozengracht to her house (close to where I took this photo), hauling all my luggage and this happened:
Man with Amsterdam accent, shouting from terrace: 'He! Op vakantie geweest?' (did you go on vacation)
- Nee, ik ben op vakantie (No, I am on vacation)
Huh? Where did you come from?
- Form New York
You speak Dutch very well!

Anyway, this developed into a small conversation about Amsterdam being the number one city in the world and it being fitting that New York is in fact new Amsterdam. His friend, who will be traveling to NYC in two weeks, also chimed in. Very funny!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.