CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The call of the waves

The sun was shining from the clear blue sky when we woke this morning and the beach called eventually.

We both felt lazy but Helena donned her wetsuit and headed for the sea which was approaching high tide.  I stayed on the sands for a while before walking down to dip my toe in the water, which instantly froze.  It is no good, I’m afraid.  I’m just not suited to more than a few moments of North Atlantic waters.  

I was rather scared of getting sunburnt so we returned to base at lunchtime and after a bite to eat I lay down and snoozed for rather longer than intended.  But that is what holidays are for, to catch up on what the body wants rather than the mind.

By the time we got going again it was after 7pm and we went to get connected online at a local cafe and then to watch the last of the light on the beach.  The tide had gone out once again, right on time, according to the 'Tide Tables' Helena has bought.  Helena went to buy some cider while I stayed for a bit longer on the beach.

There always seem to be people heading backwards and forwards from the sea no matter what the wind or wave conditions are, nor whether the tide is high or low.  But I get the sense that some people are more serious than others in the manner of their approach.  The call of the waves is very addictive once you get the taste for it, and I think this man has succumbed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.