Marking Time

By Libra

Instant poem on growing old

Welsh poet, performer and artist Jeremy Wyatt visited my studio ( Forth Valley Open Studios ) this afternoon- and promptly wrote a poem.
The inspiration was my inter-active installation on "The time of our lives" - what is it like to grow old today.

Jeremy wrote:

A wee poem on Growing Old

Growing Old?
The right to scold
to take things back
when to me sold.
be like my Dad
slippers with holes
Smelly uppers
worn out soles
or time to paint
sweet hours to think
my girl, a paintbrush
canvas, pen and ink....

Visitors are asked to write what they feel it is like to grow old and this is placed in the box for others to rummage through.

Behind Jeremy on the right hand side is a selection of drawings created by visitors on my ipad. These include images made by people in their 70s and 80s who had never even heard of an ipad let alone use one yet with simple instruction they were able to create work.
If I had given them a pen and paper and asked them to draw they would have refused saying they could not draw.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.