Denzil's occasional Blips

By denzilblount

RIP Tom (365 mono #351)

Our faithful family pet, Tom died this morning.  He was a humble goldfish, but he has been a part of the family since the kids were babies.  He has been suffering for a while with a growth on his eye.  At first I thought that it was an infection, but I now suspect that it was a tumour.

He has been at the bottom of his tank for the last few days, but yesterday he spent most of his time one his side with moments of movement.  I went to bed with him barely moving and hoped that he would pass away in the night.  Indeed, he looked dead in the morning, but then moved as I approached the tank.  A few moments of moving and stillness, and then he was gone.

The kids were so upset.  The youngest was especially so, and he decorated Tom's grave where we buried him in the back garden.  My Blip for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.