Seal Morning

I was sitting at the mouth of the estuary this morning trying to photograph a seagull tearing at a dead fish when suddenly the rock beside it moved. To my delight, when  the camera was pointed that way, I could see it was a seal.

There has been a seal hanging around in this area for a while but usually across the channel and too far away for a shot. The tide was out so I was able to make my way in the seal's direction until I was only about 3 metres away with a clear view. It was totally disinterested in me - I probably could have got even closer but discretion won out, and besides I didnt really need to.

All the seal wanted to do was to drowse  on sun-warmed rocks. Every now and then it would rear up and sit, head stretched to the sky - presumably to sun bathe it's front.

I stayed watching for ages and took lots of photos. I would have done better to only take one because now I am finding it hard to choose between them.

It was a wonderful experience though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.