Chewing the Fat

We had a lovely walk today, starting at Camphill Road, and walking up the true left of the Hawea River to Lake Hawea, where we had our lunch. 
These two guys were enjoying sitting and chatting in the lovely sunshine.  Mm I thought, 'chewing the fat'.

When I got home I looked up the expression on 'google, and here is what I found.  Some sources attribute 'chew the fat' to sailors who would chew on salt hardened fat while resting and conversing.  Or British farmers chewing on smoked pork, but there is no evidence supporting these claims.

In 1907 'chew the fat' was used to express partaking in idle conversation, a friendly talk or gossip session.  I thing these two were having a 'friendly talk.

It has been a beautiful sunny day, my visitors will be buzzing when they come home from their day Heli-skiing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.