Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Junior's sister!

I had a quick cup of tea on the deck this morning and was able to snap a couple of shots of Dad Downy with Junior's baby sister! Not the best shot technically, but it was the only decent one I got with both Dad and the young lass. Junior showed up a little while later all by himself, and bellied right up to the suet bar. He is a bit awkward landing, but seems to be gaining independence quickly. No signs of Mom, other than a quick visit last night, so she is probably still tending nestlings? It is fascinating to me to see what a big role the male DWP plays in chick-rearing. He seems to be a very good parent. I saw him taking food up to a tree branch next to our yard, feeding one or more fledglings.

My second choice of a blip today was going to be one of the adventuresome katydid nymphs, but I thought you'd enjoy the continuing saga of the DWP family.

Oh, I nearly forgot! I set up my trail/game cam last night on the deck - aimed right at the hummingbird feeder that ends up on the ground every morning. And what do you think I captured? Guess! Can't guess? Oh, c'mon, you know...what has a bandit face and clever little hands? Have a look, if you'd like. This is why the suet and bird seed have to come in at night now.

Hubs is flying home from a 5-day trip this afternoon - can't wait to see him! We have no plans for the weekend, other than some yard work, some margaritas, and some grilling. Hallelujah!

Thanks for the great feedback on my Halloween Pennant yesterday! Hard to believe that a year ago, I was not even sure of the difference between a damsel and a dragon. This is what blip will do to for you!

Hoping you all have (or had) a great Friday! See you on the blip-o-sphere!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.