Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Mono Monday Challenge: Work

I noticed comments from a few people who, like me, have left work behind them and are enjoying their retirement, and who thought they might struggle with this challenge.  In fact, like the man who said he loved work; he could watch it all day, there is plenty of work to be observed.  However, I thought everyone would be heartily sick of seeing tractors and combine harvesters so I decided on a different tack.

'Work Song' was written by Nat Adderley and performed by his brother Cannonball, and has since been covered by many artists.  It was one of the first things I learned when I started to play saxophone and it's a long time since I played it; indeed, it's a long time since I played anything on my saxophone.  But Terry, if you happen to be reading this, it may be a long time since I last had a lesson with you but I had a go this afternoon and could still play it.  Just.  It took me a while to find that top G Sharp and it sounded a bit as though I was strangling the neighbour's cat until I did, but I got there.

If you want to hear how it should be played, try this.

Thanks again to TheAphid for hosting the challenge this month!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.