Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

Find the Duck

Today (or yesterday, as I'm back-blipping) was another warm, sunny day, so I spent the afternoon in Leigh-on-Sea.  I noticed there was going to be a 'Duck Race' held at some point during the afternoon, 'racing' little rubber duckies'.  I remember watching a duck race in Harwich, which I thought was last year...but looking back at my blips it was back in 2012!  Here is the link  Anyway, back to Sunday...the tide was a very long way out and I sat, eating an ice cream, dangling my legs over the side of the sea wall, watching them struggle as they dragged the huge bags of ducks through the thick mud.  They then sat themselves down on the bags, waiting for the tide to come in, occasionally chucking a little ducky in to test the water flow!   I sat there for over an hour in the sun, watching people have fun in the thick mud...sliding down the muddy banks and children searching for crabs in the muddy pools of water. It was getting a bit late then and no sign of the tide coming in, so decided to go for a walk from Leigh into Southend and get the train back from there.

The little ducks reminded me of the Usborne books that my sons (and I!) used to enjoy when they were tiny.  There was a little yellow duck to find on every page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.