Reckoner

A morning at home sorting out them children of mine and then out and about, the usual...

Stewart Lee , he's always good, but I definitely prefer him in the smaller places he plays some years - this big, grand place he's in this festival almost makes his faux-contempt seem real. Almost.  He's faking, but he does it very well.

David Bailey exhibition at the National Gallery. Think I saw it all (there's a lot) but will definitely be back to take it in at least once more, the beauty of annual membership meaning I can just pop back as often as I like and see my favourites again. And, of course if I'd thought about it in advance I could have referenced/ripped-off Bailey with a black-and-white portrait against a signature plain white background for my blip today but I was down a back alley with just my phone instead so there you go.

A very good film with jaybroek over teatime, the description of it as a 'Spanish True Detective' isn't far wide of the mark at all. In some aspects it's a pretty standard police-investigating-a-crime movie but the landscapes, overall style and 70s post-Franco setting elevate it a long way above the norm.

Late night jazz at The Hub with justsitting. Really excellent, saw a few people I knew outside at the end and everyone was raving about it. The drummer especially was captivating, wow! And it's really made me want to watch Whiplash again too. Definitely my kind of tempo.

Round-up complete, typing this up on the Tuesday, it's going to be a quiet one today, might even give town a swerve completely I reckon.

Reckon? Reckoner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.