October 4th Journal

By IONAX

Small Country Church

This church's name is Innri-Hólms-kirkja (Inner-holm-church) and you can see on the location where it is located. In this church my wife was confirmed.
The three ladies are standing over the graves of my parents in law.
They are from the left Dodda, my wife and Gréta. Dodda is the mother of Gréta and Gréta is the ex-wife of one of my wife's brothers. We have a name for this in Icelandic, svilkona, not including the ex and svili if it is a male.
The Good Wife and I had promised to take Dodda on a trip to visit the graves, meet my wife's oldest brother who lives in Akranes and on the way back stop by the place that used to be my parents in law's farm - now it's being shoveled away for the gravel under it.

Family ties are very strange in Iceland. I have always had more and stronger ties to my wife's family than my own. I have five sisters and I have not been in contact with them for 16 years now and I don't miss them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.