Things I have Learnt

I "attempted" to make Cakeophilia's Princess Cake today. 

1.  When the recipe calls for a 23 cm tin - don't use a 25 cm tin thinking it will do - it won't.
2.  Don't substitute light cream for the real thing when you are making a custard, just because you picked up the wrong one in a hurry at the supermarket, and were too lazy to go back and get the right sort. 
3.  Just because they sell colouring gel at one supermarket doesn't mean they will sell it at another (I only got green and forgot the pink).
4.  I no longer have a steady hand when it comes to icing.
5.  Marzipan coloured roses with chocolate drizzled over them for effect look crappy.
6.  And the universal truth - if you have enough cream, you can cover up most mistakes.

I've just added the cut cake into extras.  And the Rower says it tastes unbelievably good.  Light as a feather.  Maybe I haven't quite lost it yet.

Thank you all so much for your messages of sympathy for yesterday's blip.  Gee, it was a hard day.  Which is possibly why I thought we deserved cake today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.