Docadiem

By Kathee

CORRUPTION
A SAD STORY. BUT NOT TRAGIC.
Depending on your empathy level.
Worth 1/2 of a hankie.


BACKSTORY
First thing this morning, I open LightRoom.
Oddly, a big question mark hovers above each of my folders.

I open my LaCie portable external drive
Locate "Our Lightroom Photos" file.
Click on it....and find....
NOTHING_Nada_ZIPPO.
No, wait, _I'm sorry....
There was that one picture... of an overflowing dumpster.

MISSING IN ACTION
All photo files from 2011 and 2012,
Not only mine, but Nmbr-1's.

MY COMPUTER DISASTER STRATEGY
STEP ONE
Berate self for not consistently performing backups
Photoshop Guru, Scott Kelby's words rang in my ears,
"Remember. It's not if your hard drive crashes It's when."

STEP TWO
Fight Panic

STEP THREE
Call La Cie.
Work with a semi-tech for one hour.
Find out- It's not a failure of their drive (it's under warranty, after all),
It's a corrupt catalog, or something like that.
My eyes began to glaze over about 45 minutes into the call.
Information on the drive shows almost 1Tb of my images are still there.
Good chance they can be resurrected.
Yet, we never know till we dig deep into that baby.

EVERYTHING HAS A PRICE
The tag for this recovery is $399.00.
No payment if they can't resuccitate.
I believe I backed up 70-80% of my images.
OR, NOT.

SO THERE YOU HAVE IT
I'm not a professional photographer.
I'm more of a McDonald's quality image maker.
With that said, I'm still not willing to lose so much from the last 2 years.

I MAILED
My little orange LaCie to Tech Staff.
I'll find out late next week, if he can be reborn
_________________
JUST FOUND OUT
My Baby Bovine hit spotlight.
Of course, he couldn't bask in the warmth- with his 18mb file dislocated.

Thank you soooooo. Much.
Dear Blip Buds you sure added a high note to my day.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.