SIGNS

By Mickky

Pocket Pack Tissues

Found this pocket tissue at my brother's room. I haven't asked him yet but, from the way it looks like, this is probably what he brought from Canada, where he stayed for a month last spring. As you can see it has French as well, and in fact Japanese ones look quite different.

Then I somehow began to look up the noun, tissue, in a dictionary, learning for the first time that tissue paper refers to a piece of paper used for wrapping and packing breakable items, as decoration etc. Personally I've never heard anyone call such wrapping paper as tissue paper in Japan. We do use the term, tissue paper, as a sort of Japanese English, but I think it's more like facial tissue or a disposable handkerchief, not stuff for wrapping at least. After all, I spent the whole afternoon thinking about tissue and tissue paper.  Such a strange way of spending the summer holiday isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.