Think, try, share

By JonBusby

What goes around comes around.

Walking home from work I had a seizure at Waterloo station.

I felt the aura three times before collapsing. It's a sensation (quite pleasant actually) that if you have experienced epilepsy, as I did in my youth, is instantly recognisable.

When the third one happened I knew I had to lie down as head injuries are common from falls during seizure. Think Delboy leaning back on the bar.

I awoke with three paramedics around me convinced I was in Australia.

Post seizure your memory is wiped and confused. That may seem scary but as you have no concept of fear or worry it's actually quite a joyous state.

I was taken to Guys.

There were some dark days in the weeks ahead. Anjee was there for me. My boss was hugely supportive which was a big help.

Two things have stayed with me.

First some stranger must have called for help. Whoever he or she is I send them my warmest thoughts and gratitude. A year or two previously I had done something similar for a stranger, beaten to a pulp invite street I held him, called an ambulance and waited until they arrived to take over.

What goes around comes around.

Secondly, I'm lucky. It could have been a stroke, a fatal heart attack or I could have fallen onto the Northern Line as a train approached.

I am good now, on meds, and managing my sleep and stress better.

Always help a stranger, seek no reward or recognition, it will bring you far greater rewards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.