Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

The Gift That Keeps On Giving

My sister Susan joined us for lunch, and I showed her around the garden to see where I'd been up a ladder on Monday to tidy the jasmine and rambling rose (now finished with its abundant show of tiny bright pink flowers) which climb over the wooden archway.  We took a tour to look at all the other plants too and discuss their ongoing care, just as I sometimes used to do with Dad.  Susan was as astonished as I was at the sheer number of buds on this rose bush, despite its fairly compact size.  It produced a few blooms earlier in the summer, but has been "resting" for several weeks.  Susan said roses sometimes do that.  It seems the deadheading I've been doing assiduously all summer has paid off.

Nature truly is a gift that keeps on giving...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.