Blank slate

I am reasonably clued up about computers. I first did some basic (literally) programming about 40 years ago and although I don’t programme I’ve kept up-to-date with what computers do and am often asked by colleagues for help. So what happened today was a bit of a surprise.
 
Most of our work files are saved onto a shared drive so the only things stored on my work computer are a few personal or sensitive documents. As I’ll be leaving on Friday I’m tidying up and I started deleting documents that won’t be needed. On my desktop was a folder called (My name)’s folder. I glanced very quickly, couldn’t see anything I wanted in it, so dropped it in the recycling bin. I was slightly puzzled by the message saying it was too big for the recycling bin so did I want to delete everything immediately but hey, I’m going, so I clicked yes. And straight away realised that was very unwise. There was no cancel so I closed the delete box...
 
Yes, I was in the process of obliterating my programmes, my settings, my connections, my self, the lot. Almost all my icons had gone, the taskbar was an array of grey ghosts, and the files I could see (thanks to one openable folder left on my desktop), were shivering.
 
I left the computer for an hour to see if the files would calm down but they didn’t. So: machine restart time. It closed OK but wouldn’t restart fully. Another go and yes, it opened after installing  many, many updates and stopping to think many, many times. But I have become a blank slate. I think it was the User folder, usually locked and buried. I've no idea why it was personalised and exposed.
 
At any other time I’d be devastated at the havoc, but of course at any other time I wouldn’t have done it. I’m actually rather amused at the thought of being a digital wraith for my last two days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.