A Thousand a Day

By Daver64

Perseids 7 - 0 Daver64

Between 1:00 and 1:30 am this morning, I got good views of around 7 meteors. Each time, my shutter was open, but not a streak showed up. (There was even a 'double' during one exposure, but neither meteor registered)

If I raised the ISO, the image was far too bright. On settings recommended on the BBC website, I got an almost totally white picture! Presumably, by bringing it down to get a decent image of the brighter constellations, (Cassiopeia, Perseus and Andromeda can just about be made out in this blip) it was too low to record the meteors as they streaked across the frame.

I tried 20 second and 30 second exposure times, to no avail.
Any suggestions for better luck next year, Blip-pals?

p.s. I've taken the colour out of this image. The original shot is my extra, if you're interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.