Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

One from the vaults......

......I dug this old photo out a couple of days ago to post on a local history facebook group page that I follow.....so this morning it's a retaken pic of a pic (oh, do keep up;-)) from the early 70's of the then landlady/licensee of The Barley Mow on City Rd in Newcastle (later extended/reincarnated as a nightclub, now demolished.....I believe after an arson/insurance-related jobbie in 2011), whose name I unfortunately can't remember (EDIT: an old mate from back-in-the-day has just come up with a name via Facebook, Mrs Wright, and I think he's right!!). It was taken JUST post-decimalisation (only 'old' money accepted....until it ran dry), hot water for glass washing came out of that 'instant' water heater in the background and the toilets were unisex (ie there was only the one) and of the outside variety......we used to go there every week for a Sunday lunchtime irish folk session.....oh happy days!

EDIT: ThrowbackThursday tag added MUCH later in the day.....just found out about the 'challenge'. Y'know I might turn out to be a 'regular' contributor....there's definitely enough material;-)

Bit of an emergency blip.....I've just bought a new pair of secateurs and I can't wait to try them out while they're still sharp;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.