kwchas

By kwchas

Night Sky

I decided to attempt some night photography and with a clear (ish) sky and the perseid meteor shower supposedly visible I drove out to the Sandstone Trail at Willington just after midnight.

It proved to be quite a good location but standing on my own, in the pitch black in the middle of a field proved to be a bit spooky. There were a few strange noises and I realised some of the rustling was coming from cows on the other side of the hedge which I couldn't see. 

I was there until around 1:15 and did see a few shooting stars but they were very brief glimpses and it was more a case of "I'm sure I just saw something out of the corner of my eye." Needless to say there was no chance of photographing the meteor shower but I had a good play with the camera and learnt a few things. I took several shots of this tree with the plough behind (one of the few constellations I recognise). I don't think it is too bad for a first attempt.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.