Chains

Two sunny days in a row, but it is all due to go downhill later on this evening.  I decided to go to the beach and the tide was well out which gave me the opportunity to reach some parts I don't normally get to.  The wooden post is left over from a jetty and there are dozens of them scattered about, but today I noticed some large chains partly embedded in the sand as well.  These posts and chains have probably been there for over a century and are a reminder that people sailed to Liverpool and then on to places like America.  It is also a reminder that human beings have been migrating for centuries in an attempt to make a better life for themselves, and I just wish a bit more sympathy could be shown by the tabloids towards the migrants in the Mediterranean.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.