Early start

Starting walking at 5.15 this morning wasn’t too difficult as I had slept quite lightly.  It’s the first early start I’ve done this summer and I was looking forward to it.

The air was cool and still as we headed up Whiteside.  It’s quite a steep way up with the benefit of a fast ascent so I could meet the sun as it came over the top ridge.  It felt quite spectacular being up there with no-one around and barely a sound to be heard. 

The stroll across the ridge to Hopegill Head was as lovely as I’d remembered it from quite a number of years back and in quite different weather to a few years ago when, in winter, pre-dog, we had to crawl down to the col crab style as the wind was so fierce.  We even considered walking with the wind to Keswick and catching the bus back.

It couldn't be more different today.  

Continuing yesterday’s sensible theme, I ambled along to Whiteless Pike in the sunshine with two poles and avoiding any more big ascents.  It was only 7.30 but it was definitely time for lunch and an excuse to stop and take in the early morning air.

I saw a fell runner coming the other way and I met her later on as she was trying to dash back for a 10am leave time.  She was probably going to be in a bit of bother but we agreed that today was worth being late for.

A few more stops to admire the views and I was back sauntering along Crummock Water to the van.  

As I was getting ready to leave, a little drama unfolded as a Canadian woman on holiday pulled up and proceeded to call Emergency Services.  Her partner was having an asthma attack and had developed chest pains.  To cut a long story short, two First Response volunteers, one air ambulance and one land ambulance arrived which delayed my departure by a couple of hours as I didn’t want to get in the way of the ambulance going in either direction on the single track road.  

It didn’t matter, I wasn’t in any rush and the lady was clearly in trouble.  She eventually left in the helicopter, the ambulance headed out and I followed on behind.  Hopefully, she’s back enjoying the rest of her holiday by now.

I’m now pretty jaded but glowing after a beautiful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.