The Way I See Things

By JDO

The Big Birthday

Thanks to everyone who posted good wishes for R's birthday celebration today. We have had a lovely family day, and I think that so far he's finding being 60 pretty much like being 59, but with more presents.

As the Big Birthday happens to fall on Abstract Thursday, I thought it would be nice to create an image from the birthday cards on the hall dresser - you might think it represents the viewpoint of someone who started the day with Bucks Fizz and finished it floating in single malt, but I couldn't possibly comment.

The technique I used for this shot has been hugely popular recently in a couple of Facebook photography groups I belong to. It involves using multiple filters in different layers - the Photoshop tutorial is here, but I made this in PSE without any difficulty. I actually created several different images from the same photo - starting by following the tutorial exactly, but then trying various modifications to see if I preferred them. For this one I centred the radial blur filter differently on the two layers, and then twisted them differently as well. For the image I've put in as the extra I created three layers and applied the filters to the two copies, before blending them with the unaltered original.

I should warn you that if you're thinking of trying this out, you should set aside several hours - it's ridiculously addictive. Luckily I had the time to spare, because I was hiding from the sight of R and the Offspring cooking. In my kitchen.  I know - it's the stuff of nightmare. But it only gets to happen once every decade or so - normal service will be resuming tomorrow.

They made pikelets.

No, I don't know why. But after much anxiety, and consulting of me and the interweb (and a certain amount of abuse being directed at one Mr P. Hollywood) they actually turned out pretty well. That may sound half-hearted, but given that I don't like crumpets it actually counts as a ringing endorsement. I'm trying not to think about the fact that there was mixture left over, and that something straight out of Quatermass  is now happening in the fridge.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.