JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

Queen Victoria: the Nippy Sweetie & other Takes

I was a guest on BBC Radio 4's Front Row tonight talking about a new exhibition in Edinburgh featuring the work of Scottish artists in the Royal Family's capacious collection.
Don't tell anyone - it was actually recorded last Thursday - but George Cole, of St Trinians and Minder fame, died that day and a last minute obit had to run.
Such is showbiz.
It's past midnight now but I've only just listened to it. Was in Edinburgh with a friend seeing the European premier of Robert Lepage's excellent 887.
Funny old business listening to yourself on the wireless. All I could think of was that my late gran would've been beside herself with quiet Presbyterian glee that I was talking on a 'top drawer' radio station about the Queen's paintings.
In other news, she'd have been horrified that I voted Yes to independence last year...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.