In My World

By JoanneInOz

On Golden Pond (AKA ~ In My Pool!)

Every now and then, I will hear a very distinctive "quack, quack" in the back garden, followed by a massive splash, and I know that the ducks are back.

A pair of ducks have taken a fancy to my swimming pool. They don't usually stay for long, just enough time for a quick dip and off they fly.

I've tried and tried to get a decent photo of this charming pair, without success...until today...

They arrived quite early this morning, with their usual massive splash, while I was feeding the magpies. I quickly flung a few chunks of bread down to the pavers next to the pool, to try and encourage them to linger longer, whilst I dashed inside and grabbed my camera.

Oh how I love my new camera! The zoom is brilliant!! In total, I took around fifty photos of the playful pair, as they swam, flapped, ate their bread, then toddled through the open gate of the swimming pool area, looking for interesting bugs to feast on in the grass.

The photo I have chosen for today is my favourite of them all. Although it only shows one of the ducks, I love the reflections and the shimmering water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.