Flower Friday - Tribute

Very late yesterday afternoon, when it was quite dark, the door bell rang, causing a certain amount of pandemonium in the family room: dog barked, cat went vertical, drink went all over the floor - you know the sort of thing.

So I went to the door muttering under my breath, like who can this be at this time of night; the lack of consideration of some people etc (it was about 6.30pm by the way). Only to have this beautiful arrangement of orchids thrust at me, and a nicely dressed woman, saying I hope I have the right address. 

Rather stunned I walked back into the room, opening the card, which said "thinking of you at this sad time, Hills Veterinary Service".  It was from our vet who had looked after Rani for most of her life, and who helped her out of it in the final stages. 

We were completely destroyed by this kindness.  I burst into tears, and the Rower looked like he wanted to.  We were just overwhelmed.

And I couldn't have posed this shot even if I wanted to.  Today, Raj walked over to the flowers and sat for me, like he was saying goodbye too.

You know, I've always rather prided myself on being pragmatic, and before Rani, it's always been relatively easy to move on after the death of a much loved pet.  At my age there have been a few over the years..  But this time, I am having trouble "getting over it". 

Rani really was special.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.