Energy

What you see before you here today is energy. Energy that on Saturday is going to save my butt. Energy that I will start eating at 60km into the 80km of the race - the Molesworth Muster. Last year I tanked (or bonked as they say in cycling) at 60k, this year you behold my secret weapon. Sure, I could go for some of those energy goos, but yuk, compared to these lovelies.

Tonight I am frantically cleaning and tuning my bike, packing gear for the camping tomorrow night, collating and measuring food, and then also planning for post race. Well, the cold beer and nice Pinot Noir!

Tomorrow afternoon we head north and drive up the Molesworth to the race start. All 600 competitors then camp the night, and I expect it's going to be pretty cold ... Next morning all drivers have to leave by 7am to drive back to Hanmer Springs, and then we riders set off at 8.30.

Last year I took 4.37hrs to do the race. This year, anything better than 4.30 will be good, but in reality all I want to do is not feel so completely shattered at the end of the race, thus the focus on food.

And then, cold beer will be waiting. That will keep me going!

See you again on Sunday blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.